Ripken Baseball Group acquires Augusta GreenJackets


27 Jun Ripken Baseball Group acquires Augusta GreenJackets

The Ripken Baseball Group today announced the acquisition of the Augusta GreenJackets Minor League baseball team from HWS Baseball Group. The announcement was made at a press conference at the South Atlantic League All-Star Game in Augusta, Georgia. Beginning October 1st 2005, Ripken Baseball will assume full operation of the Augusta GreenJackets, first year Class-A affiliate of the San Francisco Giants.

In January of 2002 Cal Ripken, Jr. and the Ripken Baseball Group purchased the Aberdeen IronBirds, formerly the Utica Blue Sox. With the implementation of a proven sales model and a dedicated staff the IronBirds, Class-A affiliate of the Baltimore Orioles in the New York Penn League, have become one of two minor league teams to successfully sell out every home game through its first four years of existence. Cal Ripken, Jr. commented, “Over the past four years we have found a successful model in the Aberdeen IronBirds. As a result of that model we have been able to watch the city of Aberdeen establish itself as a premier minor league community. We are very excited to expand on this success in other baseball cities and are confident that the Augusta GreenJackets will benefit from our proven model.”

About the Augusta GreenJackets

The Augusta GreenJackets, formally the Augusta Tourist, was a founding member of the South Atlantic League in 1904. Since then Augusta has won nine S.A.L. championships, the latest in 1999. The HWS Baseball Group purchased the team in 1998, three years after it was renamed the Augusta GreenJackets. Mike Savit of the HWS Baseball Group said, “My brother and I have owned the Augusta GreenJackets for 7 years and we will always cherish our time there. We are very happy and proud to be able to leave the GreenJackets in the capable hands of Cal Ripken, Jr. and his team at Ripken Baseball. I wish them great success with the team.”

About the South Atlantic League

The South Atlantic League was formed in 1903 and is known for developing numerous Major League stars including Ty Cobb, Nolan Ryan, Tommy Lasorda, Derek Jeter, Curt Schilling and Mariano Rivera. The League currently has 16 teams located in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Maryland, West Virginia, Ohio, New Jersey and Kentucky. The league teams play a 140 game season with a split schedule, 70 home games and 70 road games. “Our league has seen tremendous growth during the past decade building new facilities and increasing attendance each year (2004 attendance was 3,285,949)” commented League President John Moss. “We are very happy to welcome the Ripken Group into the S.A.L. family and are confident that they will revitalize baseball in Augusta.”

Source: Our Sports Central